catnipoflife

Observe life at its best, Listen to life’s songs, Embrace life’s bounties, Breathe the breath of life, Savor life to its fullest!

Remembering ~ My Hand in Yours, Your Hand in Mine

on September 15, 2012

Every once in awhile I compile a post to that is befitting to both Awakenings and catnipoflife. Today was such a day. As I worked on the posting Looking Ahead: National Teddy Bear Day for Awakenings, it occurred to me while I feature Echoes on catnipoflife, perhaps I should start featuring Remembering on her sister site. The genre of both books is poetry. While the first presents echoes of love, life and the past, the second connects the past to the present through remembrances and personal reflection.

National-Teddy-Bear-Day

Looking ahead to American Teddy Bear Day, which occurs on November 14, 2012, the poem Teddy Bear Hugs immediately came to mind. Below is an adapted version of the poem that was published in my book Remembering, My Hand in Yours, Your Hand in Mine. The premise behind this book is to allow you (the reader) to peer into the past and make personal connections. Journal pages are introduced intermittently throughout the book affording the opportunity for reflecting on your life, recalling special moments and recording thoughts to direct your energies toward tomorrow.

In this book, the reader also becomes a writer!

What a great keepsake to pass down to a son, daughter, nephew, neice, cousin – not only for reading the words of the author but for reading in a loved one’s own handwriting that personal connection as he or she peers into the past.

Discount/Autograph Copy
Contact poetrybysharla@gmail.com

Teddy Bear Hugs

there is something magical
in the hugs of a teddy bear
hugging and getting hugged
have a special place anywhere

in times of just not feeling good
moods can suddenly be shifted
bear hugs somehow understand
so spirits are quickly lifted

darkness acquires a new light
when tucked in bed all cozy and snug
dreams and memories are awakened
as sleep begins with a teddy bear hug

cuddled in secure arms, soft and warm
evocative tranquil moments occur
the teddy bear hug is never forsaken
even amidst worn-out spots or frazzled fur

loved by everyone, child and adult
the teddy bear travels anywhere wanted
the more hugs given, the more received
with comfort never ever being daunted

©2009
Sharla Lee Shults

“When a hug comes your way, cherish the moment and then give it away.” ~SLS

14 responses to “Remembering ~ My Hand in Yours, Your Hand in Mine

  1. Micki Peluso says:

    Teddy bears have always been a part of my life and I still have some today as gifts from my grandkids when they were little–can’t throw or give them away. Thanks for a lovely poem reminding us how special they are.

  2. bobmielke says:

    I really enjoyed the teddy bear blog as well as the video presentation. The one issue I had was that slides with printed text on them flashed by to quickly to be read at a reasonable rate. The still shot frames were fine. This was a really cute presentation. Thanks for posting. 🙂

  3. Teepee12 says:

    I have many bears, some really tiny, some pretty big. They hang out with my dolls. Sometimes I dress them up with fancy hats and dresses and stuff. Bears make me smile 😉

  4. sandra305 says:

    Love your post and our home is loaded with Teddy bears! I pretend that I have all my stuffed animals because I’m a children’s writer, but the truth is that I just love stuffed animals and the bigger, the better!

  5. lgyslaine says:

    very beautiful poem and good memories for me. I remember, in reading, that I had a Teddy bear too. 🙂

  6. How beautiful and adorable!

  7. Teddy Bears DEFINITELY bring back memories. Thank you.

  8. I didn’t realize there was a National Teddy Bear Day!
    I enjoyed reading “Teddy Bear Hugs” — just beautiful.

  9. Such a sweet poem, Sharla! I LOVE teddy bears and what’s better than reading such fine words about the cutie pies?! 🙂

  10. Reading this reminds me of my teddy bear as he sits on a shelf, overseeing all the affairs of my adult life. Ignored now, he offers little comfort, until someone like you writes a poem and posts it for us all to read. I think I need to take him down, tell him a few things and see if he still holds the same magical healing powers. Bless you.

  11. Sharla, Thanks for the memories. I had only one teddy bear as a child and when taken I always felt alone. I made sure our daughter had them all around her but she is now 38 and has her favorite bear-Buddy-still with her.Tired, tattered and not the best looking any longer but after 38 years of hugs, I think he looks really good. I use to hold him and tell her stories as if he was talking. A great memory that made me feel hugged too.
    Thanks for the fun read.

  12. Raani York says:

    Teddy Bears!! I LOVE mine… I apparently got a white long haired unusual Teddy Bear when I was only 2 months old – and when you turn it onto his back he growls.
    I still have it and I still think it’s one of the most adorable Teddy Bears on earth!
    Thank you for sharing!!

  13. […] hugged a bear or seen a bear giving a hug? For most of us, that experience is engrained in remembering the hugs of the ever precious teddy bear. But let’s take a look today at the REAL bear hug. . […]

  14. […] compassion and comfort When a hug is all that’s needed Priceless moments in time (Teddy Bear hugs) Quickly and tenderly heeded ***** It’s shaping, molding Each life that has begun Making an […]

Leave a comment