catnipoflife

Observe life at its best, listen to life’s songs, embrace life’s bounties, breathe the breath of life and savor life to its fullest!

Awakenings: Yippee Ki-yay, aka Yippee Yi Yo Kayah

on October 8, 2013

See on Scoop.itAwakenings: America & Beyond

There is just nothing like the good ol’ Westerns! Not only did you get to watch the Saturday afternoon movie matinee but afterward you got to go home and play the part until dark. The horses were Dad’s saw horses out back in his workshop and the six-shooters were perfectly formed broken pecan tree branches. A single ground-sweeping branch from the Weeping Willow served as the snapping whip as sounds of yippee ki-yay echoed through the entire neighborhood. Of course, it was more like repeated ‘yippees’ but I am sure you get the picture.

Sharla Shults‘s insight:

Did cowboys really use this expression? A good question. What do you think?

See on www.awakenings2012.blogspot.com

10 responses to “Awakenings: Yippee Ki-yay, aka Yippee Yi Yo Kayah

  1. Teepee12 says:

    Highly unlikely. Hollywood cowboys!

  2. I was the rootinest, tootinest, two gun sheriff as a boy that the back alleys of my home town ever saw. Hmm, then there was Davy Crockett. @ Sharla there would have been plenty of yeehahs and unprintable words used to move cattle along.

  3. love it, I was born in 1955 so this resonates with me 🙂

  4. Al says:

    Yeah I loved that. I didn’t get to go to the movies to watch the matinees often, but we always used to go and play outside, using the railings as horses.

  5. Raani York says:

    From what I heard Cowboys used some kind of yelling and screaming while forcing the cow herds forward. But if it really was this yell…? I can’t tell… I think I missed that phase during my metamorphosis. LOL

Leave a Reply

