catnipoflife

Observe life at its best, listen to life’s songs, embrace life’s bounties, breathe the breath of life and savor life to its fullest!

Free Write Friday #30: Image Prompt

on September 22, 2013

Welcome to Kellie Elmore’s Free Write Friday. I know it is Sunday but better late than not at all! New here? Read the intro.

This week Kellie has provided a FWF image prompt. These are always fun to work with and for me, usually spark inspiration for a poem. Not this time. As you all know, sometimes thoughts move in the direction for me to venture outside my poetry box.

Is there a story behind this week’s image prompt? Of course and here it is in Kellie’s own words: “FWF was not posted last week. Again, I apologize for my absence and I thank you for not sending me hate mail. This weeks prompt is actually the reason for my disappearance. I photographed a wedding for a friend of mine which was not only so much fun, but extremely time consuming. I hope you will forgive me.

I decided to share one of my favorite shots with you for your prompt. I can’t wait to read what your imagination creates!”

Jackson Wedding

Today is a special day, a time of joy and celebration at my friend’s wedding. Vows of love and commitment are exchanged within smiles and teardrops. As thoughts drift much like the floating balloons, I feel you kick and gently pat your tiny feet pushing against my skin. It was only a little over a year ago that similar vows were being made with hopes of great things in the years ahead.

We were in love. L.O.V.E. The kind of love that binds two people together through thick and thin, good and bad, easy and hard times. We were strong always confiding in one another, laughing at our faux paus, and understanding each other’s individuality, while being head strong, sometimes stubborn, at the same time.

Suddenly concentration is broken. I sense someone drawing near. I turn toward the sound of footsteps. A smile crosses my face as you approach returning the smile in my direction.

“He’s kicking. Give me your hand.” The sensation elicits soft sighs from both of us. “One day you and Gina will be celebrating another new beginning, different but similar. Just as you are beginning a new life together today you will one day be celebrating the beginning of a life – a miracle conceived together.”

The tears just could not be held back. I nestle my head against your shoulder as visions of Danny, my husband, your best friend, weave in and out the corridors of my mind. The only thing keeping me sane are the memories and the joy of knowing he is with me, not in the flesh, but in the spirit flowing through the veins of our son.

******************

Thank you, Kellie, for keeping the creative juices flowing. While I may not always receive the message to participate on the designated Friday, it is great to contribute when I can. It is amazing what comes to mind from just a simple prompt…but, then, that is exactly what you are after!

Other Contributions: There are more so head on over to Kellie’s place.

~ graypoet

Great to see another prompt Kellie. I hope this sounds as I heard it in my head….

http://graypoet.wordpress.com/2013/09/20/special-day-fwf-image-prompt/

~ Lorraine

I love the photo…very emotional. I hope you like my attempt:
http://thetruanttrain.wordpress.com/

~ gotmeghan

I’m hoping to finish it, but I usually never do. :( I am glad you’re back this week though. Hope you have a wonderful weekend. :D

http://gotmeghan.wordpress.com/2013/09/20/fwf-chloe-needs-a-drink/

~ Roberta

~ Terry

Hi Kellie
http://terry1954.wordpress.com/2013/09/20/fwf-free-write-friday-image-prompt-7/

~ Rishal

Yay you are back with a lovely picture this time. Here’s my take for the week http://rishalb.wordpress.com/2013/09/21/to-do-or-not-to-do/

~ buildingalifeofhope

So glad to hear from you Kellie! Here’s my prompt just off the top of my head!

http://buildingalifeofhope.com/2013/09/20/love-always/

~ Annie’s Muse

Trying something new — my first FWF on WordPress. Still need to work on that section, but here is my entry for this week.

http://anniesmuse.wordpress.com/free-write-friday/

~ Tracesofthesoul

What a beautiful photo! Here is my attempt to share my first thoughts… http://tracesofthesoul.wordpress.com/2013/09/21/pure-love/

16 responses to “Free Write Friday #30: Image Prompt

  1. Terry says:

    this is heart felt and awesome!

  2. Micki Peluso says:

    Very beautifully done!!

  3. Wow. A big surprise with this story-very moving.

  4. This is so beautifully written, I was reminded of those first soft kicks feeling life many moons ago. Thank you:)

  5. Meena Rose says:

    Beautifully written! This story did take me by surprised. Left me very moved.

  6. This is so beautifully written Have nice day With love maxima!

  7. Raani York says:

    Very nice and touching. 🙂

  8. Thank you for this beautiful piece of writing. It reminded me of those wondrous days of my two pregnancies, feeling those precious kicks. Blessings, Gina

  9. That is very sweet and touching

Leave a Reply

