catnipoflife

Observe life at its best, listen to life’s songs, embrace life’s bounties, breathe the breath of life and savor life to its fullest!

Impromptu

on September 5, 2012

Upon looking out the window this morning onto the frontyard, I was captivated by the beauty of the yellow hybiscus. When first purchased, it was such a tiny little plant and has struggled since day one to survive. At one point, I just knew it was not going to make it but I continued to nourish it daily giving it ‘soothing talks’ on my morning rounds. Okay! Stop laughing!

In a 1986 interview, England’s Prince Charles discussed his gardening habits, commenting “I just come and talk to the plants, really. Very important to talk to them; they respond.”

The theory that plants benefit from human conversation dates to 1848, when German professor Gustav Fechner published the book Nanna (Soul-life of Plants). The idea is a popular one, and has spawned several more books and even an album—recorded in 1970 by an enterprising dentist—titled “Music to Grow Plants By.” But will crooning compliments to your ficus really have any effect on its growth? Read MORE. . .

Dew on Hybiscus
(In my frontyard)

Of course, along with sharing catnip’s morning observation must come some attempt at adding a touch of poetic finesse. . .

loveliness in flowers
 gilds the lawn
 sparkling is the dew
 morning does spawn

each droplet a shard
 evoking broken glass
 transparent, not cutting
 together en masse

with a close sniff
 comes a tickle of the nose
 to be ne’er as redolent
 as that of the red, red rose

©2012
catnipoflife

Do you croon compliments to your ficus or flowering plants? What are your favorite ‘tunes’?

Penny for your thoughts?

39 responses to “Impromptu

  1. Mary Firmin says:

    As usual you capture the very essence of beauty, Sharla. All the best, Mary Firmin, author Deadly Pleasures.

  2. What a lovely Hibiscus and poem. Yes, I do talk with my plants I also sing to them but that may be doing more harm than good. I just talk about how beautiful they are even if they are straggly and thin, eventually they perk up…that whole flattery will get you everywhere thing… 🙂

  3. Seductive, attractive, and recieving the goodness in life. Mmmmm you have this mastered this in your writing. you somehow bring in sweetness in what you write

  4. I have two red hibiscus plants that struggled last year–I thought they were gonners–but I attributed it to the severely hot summer we had, and cut them back when the first frost hit. They came back this spring, and I actually did have a brief conversation with them. I said, “Look, I’ll water you, maybe give you a little fertilizer now and then, but that’s it. Either you live and bloom, or you die. Up to you.” Like I said, they’re doing great. Tough love works!

  5. Claire Cappetta says:

    If only I had time to croon to my plants… I leave that to Vin…Oh hang on.. maybe that’s why they don’t look too good! LOL 😉

  6. Teepee12 says:

    My mother talked to plants. She was an atheist, and avowedly believed in nothing at all. Except she believed that plants understood you and each other and no plant should be alone because they did not thrive without other plants for company. I believe she was right, except I doubt they understand words. More like vibrations. They know if you care. I have no idea how, but they do. If you tend your garden, it’s not just pulling the weeds that makes it flourish.

    Your picture is lovely. If you send it to me, I’ll fix it and return it. I have tools to improve pictures. Yours is good already, so it just needs a bit of help (all photos do … it is the professional photographer’s dark secret).

    • catnipoflife says:

      Yippee! It is on its away along with an extra one of Bootsie:>) Love your comments and thanks for sharing. . .now I must live up to these words and have a longer visit in my garden! Not a bad idea at all. Um-m-m? Time away from the computer. LOL:>)

  7. sandra305 says:

    I like all the sensory imagery and I an still feel “the tickle of the nose.”

  8. stutleytales says:

    I crooned, pleaded, encouraged, one of my dying plants, but it just went and died anyway. Now, I wonder… if I stood there yelling and telling my weeds how unwanted they are – would they shrivel up and die? LOL

    • catnipoflife says:

      Now that is something to contemplate for the weeds are taking over my yard! In the morning, I think I will just run around the yard screaming. Do you think anyone will notice?

  9. Micki Peluso says:

    I talk to my plants, even caress then when they’re feeling blue. I play music for them . Most like country western but my Philadendron prefers Bach. Oh Sharla, you would love my story, For the love of house plants”. lol It’s a spoof on horror stories and about killer houseplants written tongue in cheek and has an Edgar Allen Poe meter. It’s on my blog in olderposts.

  10. Sharla

    I talk to my plants and encourage then to get new sprouts and flowers saying, “I know you can do it.” I’m glad I’m not the only crazy one here.

    I have a plumeria I have nursed along for years and now it is about 4 feet tall. It did really great in Ca but of course not as good here in the desert, although it does bloom most years. And of course I move it to the garage in winter. They’re not supposed to be in temps below 40 degrees.

    Sunni

  11. Aditya says:

    Yeah I know this, while we were studying Botany, we came across this. They respond to several environmental stimuli as mentioned.

  12. lisafender says:

    Although I have attempted to talk to my plants, I never seem to stick to it, I don’t know why. Maybe it’s the fear of someone thinking I’m crazy, or I mumble to myself, I don’t know, but I still can’t bring myself to do it! Thanks for the thought that there are those that bravely do. I will try again today!

    • catnipoflife says:

      Good to have you stop by for a visit, Lisa. I know what you mean…I often wonder what people think passing by when I am in the front yard just talking away with no one else around. LOL:>)

  13. pennycoho says:

    I love this whole Post, all of it. Just great! Penny 🙂

  14. […] Impromptu (catnipoflife.wordpress.com) […]

  15. Sharla, As always you have managed to uplift the spirit. I don’t talk to my plants, but after reading your blog, maybe I should start.
    Dicy

  16. […] Upon looking out the window this morning onto the frontyard, I was captivated by the beauty of the yellow hybiscus. When first purchased, it was such a tiny little plant and has struggled since day…  […]

  17. […] Impromptu @ catnipoflife […]

Leave a Reply

